Main Menu

Explore More

Parker Love of Teaching

Each year the Parker Love of Teaching and Lifelong Learning Award honors an Oakwood teacher who goes above and beyond what is expected of them. In 2010, former Oakwood teacher Bev Parker created the award in memory of her late husband Bob Parker, saying the her family wanted to give back to the schools in a special way.

Since that time seven deserving teachers have received the award, consisting of a $1,200 prize, which is divided between the recipient and the teacher’s school, and framed artwork designed by a senior art student. Past winners are: Janet Block (Lange), Kathy Allan (OJHS), Tony Rainsberger (OHS), Ron Nelson (All buildings), Susan Kuntz (Harman), John Edwards (Harman) and Nate Thompson (Smith).

The Oakwood Schools Foundation is now looking for nominations for the 2018 winner. Parent, students, community members, alumni and Oakwood staff members can nominate any teacher who meets the criteria. You can see the criteria and the nomination form at