Main Menu

Explore More

Oakwood Schools


Group photo of Academic Decathalon

The Oakwood High School Academic Decathlon Team captured the state title in the Ohio Academic Decathlon State Competition for the 14th consecutive year at John Carroll University in Cleveland on March 9. The team will now move on to represent the state of Ohio in the United States Academic Decathlon National Competition in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, in April where they will compete against state champions from across the United States. 

This remarkable achievement is the result of hours of preparation, collaboration and teamwork each week since the season began last summer. The Academic Decathlon is a fiercely competitive 10-event scholastic competition. Each year’s competition revolves around an interdisciplinary study of a theme; the 2023-24 theme is “Technology and Humanity.” The competitors must demonstrate their knowledge in the areas of art, economics, literature, mathematics, music, science and social science; additionally, they must perform and be adjudicated in prepared and impromptu speeches, a professional interview and a timed essay. 

Individuals on the team collectively earned 196 subject area high score awards, with over 60 gold medals for achieving first place subject area scores. Rohan Haack (12) achieved a gold medal in the area of speech, earning a spot in the speech showcase. Ian Ha (9) achieved a perfect 1000 score in the area of interview. Notably, Rohan Haack (12), Alex Devgan (12), and Daniel Wang (10) achieved first overall individual scores in their respective divisions of Honors, Scholastic, and Varsity, each receiving the prestigious Golden Eagle award. 

The team extends its gratitude to the generous support of the Oakwood families, community and businesses who help to make this achievement possible. 

Members on the team this year are Paul Agiro, Isak Autrey, Ian Brooks, Alayna Brown, Ainsley Burton, Jack Campbell, Gavin Clark, Alex Devgan, Brian Fischer, Ty Fischer, Nic Frank, Peter Gusev, Ethan Ha, Ian Ha, Rohan Haack, Audrey Havrilla, Joseph Hong, Aiden Horton, Becket Jacobsen, Max Kiernan, Max Kirsch, Srinidhi Krishnamoorthy, Gabriella LaPerle, Zachary Ludwig, Tony Orsello, Brandon Roche, Angie Rodriguez, McKenzie Russell, Abbie Saxen, Grace Stafford, Will Steipp, Julian Uhlman, Danny Vásconez, Daniel Wang, Anna Weaver, Elena Zois, and Sia Zois.  The team is led by head coach Lori Morris, supported by assistant coaches Marie Jergens and Jeff Blumer.