Main Menu

Explore More

Oakwood Schools


Academic Decathlon National Championship

The Oakwood High School Academic Decathlon team clinched its 12th Division III National Championship at the United States Academic Decathlon National Competition in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, from April 24 to 27. More than 600 students from across the United States competed at this event. 

The nine-member championship team earned 65 individual medals across the subject areas and achieved eight out of nine total individual overall score awards in the three G.P.A. divisions, earning a combined total of $6,000 in scholarship awards. Earning individual overall score awards were:

  • Rohan Haack - 1st overall Honors division; also highest scoring student on Oakwood’s team
  • Joseph Hong - 2nd overall Honors division
  • Anna Weaver - 3rd overall Honors division
  • Alex Devgan - 1st overall Scholastic division
  • Brian Fischer - 2nd overall Scholastic division
  • Grace Stafford - 3rd overall Scholastic division; received a perfect 1000 in the interview event
  • Ian Brooks - 1st overall Varsity division
  • Daniel Wang - 2nd overall Varsity division

Additionally, Alex Devgan received special recognition as the Most Valuable Team Member. 

Twelve high-scoring individual decathletes from Oakwood received invitations to compete at the National Competition in the individual category. These students accrued 13 medals across the subject areas. 

The team would like to thank this year’s business sponsors for their donations to the team: Ashley’s Pastry Shop, Digestive Specialists, Inc., GoHypersonic, Meyers Printing and Design, and Robert K. Jones Insurance Agency.

Competing on the team this year are Ian Brooks, Alex Devgan, Brian Fischer, Rohan Haack, Joseph Hong, Grace Stafford, Julian Uhlman, Daniel Wang, and Anna Weaver. Competing as individuals this year are Isak Autrey, Alayna Brown, Jack Campbell, Ty Fischer, Audrey Havrilla, Aiden Horton, Becket Jacobsen, Max Kiernan, Gabriella LaPerle, Will Steipp, Danny Vásconez, and Sia Zois. The team is coached by Lori Morris and assisted by Marie Jergens and Jeff Blumer. 

Academic Decathlon National Championship 2024