Main Menu

Explore More

Oakwood Schools


Five OHS speech and debate team members

Twenty-nine members of the Oakwood High School speech and debate team will be competing virtually in the state competition after earning a spot in the State Qualifier event.

In addition to qualifying for state, Marley Wiemers and Lane Bokros each placed first in their respective events. Wiemers won Original Oratory and Bokros Program Oral Interpretation.

The team of Nate Pennington and Sebastian Roederer placed second in Public Forum Debate. In informative Speaking, Bryn Cortez placed third.

Additional qualifier for state were:

Dramatic Interpretation: Isabel Rubin-Alvarez, Natalie Bridgewaters and Maia Yokoi Humorous Interpretation: Sam Stack, Quinn MacDonald and Abby Spitzmiller

Informative Speaking: Izzy Nyhan and Kate Makkas

Lincoln-Douglas Debate: Noah Smith, Canaan Smith, Sean Michael and Sophie Johnson

Original Oratory: Lauren Hamiel

Program Oral Interpretation: Sophia Bongiovi and Shayla Frederick

Public Forum Debate: Abby Poprocki and Helen McMullen, Tess Patton and Julia Neal, and Lily Meehan and Clara Leach

US Extemporaneous Speaking: Ella Conard, Lucas Butler and Claudia Schnell

The State competition will be held virtually March 4 – 6.